Forgiveness or Permission? 

Our judicial system abides by the age old edict of “Innocent until proven Guilty,” but perhaps that isn’t something we should incorporate into or personal set of principles. 

Whether conscious or not, we are constantly making decisions. We base our decisions on our principles. What are your principles? That’s a good question, I can speak for myself exclusively when I say I’m still developing mine but I don’t think I’m the only one. 

I’ve always figured that the approach of asking for forgiveness is better than asking for permission because of time constraints, poor planning repercussions,  and sometimes an opportunity is just too good to pass up and there’s no time to wait. I’ve made lots of mistakes and bad decisions this way, but I’ve learned incredible lessons that I will take with me for the rest of my life. Most of the time, if I had the chance of choice again, I’d make the same ‘bad’ decision because the lessons I took away are invaluable and contribute to my own set of principles. Some of those decisions are easier to live with than others; though everyday I make the decision though to live with it and not change it. 

There is an argument for doing it by the book and having support lined up before making a decision. Imagine having a jumbo pillow waiting for you at the bottom of the building before you jump! Sounds exhilarating doesn’t it?! It must be. Neither option will be perfect for every situation, but I think part of what we all strive to learn during our professional childhood is when each approach is best suitable. 

Nov, what do you think? 

Leave a Reply

